Friendship


"It is not so much our friends' help that helps us as the confident knowledge that 
they will help us."
 - Epicurus (341 - 270 BC).

“Just you and me, my friend, as I just trust in you. You support me, you give me peace when I’m restless. Your heart is never closed to me. You feel my thoughts, you comfort me when I’m sad and you joy with me when I’m successful! As you are my friend…” These are the words coming to my mind if I think about my dearest friend… What would be humans without friendship? Maybe, human society wouldn’t exist! Have you realized that even husband and wife besides of being lovers, are friends? There have been lots of definition of friendship and friend. We could fill an entire library with all words said about those topics. I wrote few of them which seem to me really meaningful.

I liked a quote by Seneca, a Roman philosopher and statesman who, about 2000 years go, said:

"Consult your friend on all things, especially on those which respect yourself. 
His counsel may then be useful where your own self-love might impair your judgment."
As to say:”You are not perfect nor objective in your decision, so ask a friend (who is close to you but it is “not you”) for an advice”. I think this is an important point when we wander about friendship value.
Another ancient playwrite said:
"One loyal friend is worth ten thousand relatives." - (Euripides).
That is another point I agree with.  but I leave you just with a last quote, maybe one of the most significant:
"Friendship is the only cement that will ever hold the world together" - (Woodrow Wilson)

rosa

..we need a lot of Friendship in this world so sick! So…let’s spread some   good seeds of it everiday! Maybe our heirs will receive a better world!

Rosa

3 thoughts on “Friendship

  1. Pingback: Are They Really A Friend? « creativelybrown's Random Thoughts

Leave a Reply

